The Vagabond

Be your own sunshine


The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,

And sorry I could not travel both

And be one traveler, long I stood

And looked down one as far as I could

To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,

And having perhaps the better claim,

Because it was grassy and wanted wear;

Though as for that the passing there

Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay

In leaves no step had trodden black.

Oh, I kept the first for another day!

Yet knowing how way leads on to way,

I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh

Somewhere ages and ages hence:

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—

I took the one less traveled by,

And that has made all the difference.

Robert Frost

Have you ever pondered about the choices you did not make, and how your life would be different if you had choosen the other path? Our life is just a nutshell of the choices we made. These choices are always a matter of introspection later in the life. Whether it was a well weighed or a rash decision, the cascade we set in stays with us.

Some very well thought of decisions may bounce back. While, some rash emotional decisions may end up giving the right boost in life. That, however, never changes how we scrutinize each decision whether it’s a simple monotony of what to eat, what to wear or the bigger decisions like career, love, family and so on.

I stopped contributing to my blog some six months back. I didn’t think much about the decision, life was pretty much tangled and some one commented on my out of touch approach to my life. The response, was not writing any more. But, something was itching within, urging me to write again.

The Road not taken

The snow two weeks back got me thinking about writing again, and some free time on the train last Saturday, gave me time to get back to my blog. Both the decisions were rash, just the gut feeling that I had to go with them.

Yet, not all decisions are so spontaneous. I made a decision to move to the UK last winter, splitting my family in two countries. The decision seemed right because It had been my dream to progress my career, and get a royal college degree. Each day, someone points at the weirdness of it, my mind goes into spin again. Was this the right decision? Only time will time. Until then, i will keep pondering like Robert Frost, what if I had decided not to come?



2 responses to “The Road Not Taken”

  1. As someone in their mid 20s, the confusion and fear I feel over my choices almost always end with the simple hope that maybe I only have to deal with the hard decisions right now rather than in the later years. But every year, I see that will not be the case. So now I’m just going to work on cultivating resilience and happiness in the present. Even if it is a mistake, it will either be an experience or make a great blog post 🙂 Sending you good Vibes ~

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Like your approach. That’s what I try to do, stay in the moment, be happy for what I have. And as someone in 40s, I can tell you it never gets easier. Sending you good vibes.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

About Me.

I am a histopathologist based in UK. I find solace in my work, nature and books. My musings are my own personal beliefs.

Newsletter