The Vagabond

Be your own sunshine


An Ideal Day Off!

Ever since I completed Post graduation, and started working, It was always a single day off. Usually that day would be spent getting up a bit late, getting weekly groceries etc. My husbands schedule usually wouldn’t match, and when once in a while it would match, we ended up visiting family or eating out at some new place we had heard, in between trying to run the errands.

Lately, now with 5 day workweek, I am able to plan my weekends better and add spend the day relaxing and being with nature. With increasing years, I am not able to sleep late. I will usually get up as usual, sometimes even early, and then I take a long walk. My son is a late riser, and this morning excursion suits me. By the time I am back, he’s still sleeping and then I prepare a yummy Indian breakfast. Weekdays, we thrive on fruits, cereals and sandwiches so that we can head out of house in time. After that, we usually go to city centre, browse local library for books, get groceries etc. The rest of my weekend is spent with books and catching up on the blogs.

The prompt for bloghop was your ideal way to spend the day off, and this prompt has coincided with the long weekend. The weekend is still far from over as Monday is bank holiday. The best way for a day off is good company with family around good food and time with nature. We tend to catch up on sleep, cook a good breakfast and then usually go for a drive to one of the lakes. A good movie and/or a good book covers up the rest. On Saturday, we drove to Derwentwater. It was a beautiful sunny day. We walked around the lake, and basked in Sun. Yesterday, we drove to the St Bees Beach, climbed the cliff and enjoyed the views at the top. Another hiking is planned for today. We watched Mrs Chatterjee vs Norway. Brilliant acting by Rani Mukherjee, the movie is based on true life incident and was a food for thought.

The beautiful Derwentwater Lake
St Bees Beach, Whitehaven.

The purpose of a day off is in rejuvenate, to enrich and heal the mind, body and the soul. What do you think?

This post is written as a part of Blogchatter Bloghop hosted by Blogchatter

href=”https://www.theblogchatter.com/blogrolls/an-ideal-day-off” title=”An Ideal Day Off”>Top post on Blogchatter


2 responses to “An Ideal Day Off!”

  1. nicely -written piece and beautiful pictures.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a nice way to spend your day off.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

About Me.

I am a histopathologist based in UK. I find solace in my work, nature and books. My musings are my own personal beliefs.

Newsletter